You Can Hit the Ball Twice!

I received a copy of the book ‘You Are The Umpire’ for Christmas and only a page or two in I learned something fascinating…

A batsman is allowed to hit the ball twice! It seems an utterly bizarre and inconsistent rule because if said batsman prevents a catch by doing so he’d be given out. However he (Or she) is allowed to defend their wicket by intentionally striking the ball a second time.

Wow, just wow!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s